National Mathematics Day was celebrated at Lyallpur Khalsa College

  • By admin
  • March 21, 2022
  • 0
National Mathematics Day

Jalandhar March 19 (Jaswinder Singh Azad)- National Mathematics Day was celebrated by the Post Graduate Mathematics Department of Lyallpur Khalsa College. This program was sponsored by CSTC, DST and Punjab State Council for Science & Technology. The chief guest and keynote speaker at the function was Dr. Sanjay Kumar Srivastava Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics, S. Beant Singh State University Gurdaspur.

He was welcomed by Principal Dr. Gurpinder Singh Samra and Dr. Harjit Singh, Head, Department of Mathematics. Principal Dr. Samra asked the students and participants to take maximum benefit from the activities of the event and the keynote speaker’s lecture. He said that while mathematics is very useful in our daily life, there are many avenues open for research in this field.

Students can further contribute to the society by conducting research in this field at national and international level. In his lecture the main speaker Dr. Srivastava presented ideas on the importance of mathematics, its use and employment opportunities. He said that mathematics is a subject which may seem difficult to look at, but is an interesting subject. There is a huge potential for research in this area. During the event quiz, rangoli, poster presentation, model presentation, debate, extension, power point presentation competitions were conducted.

450 students from 30 colleges participated

The entire event was compered by Dr. Palwinder Singh Bolina. Dr. Dinkar Sharma and Prof. Nitika Chugh were Chief Assistant. 450 students from 30 colleges participated in the function. The winning students were honored with memento and all participating students were awarded certificates. Dr. Harjit Singh, Head, Department of Mathematics thanked the keynote speaker, participants, teachers and students.

To make National Mathematics Day a success, teachers from various departments, Prof. Manish Goel, Department of Commerce, Dr. Ajitpal Singh, Department of Political Science Harjinder Kaur, Department of Chemistry, Prof. Prabhdeep Kaur Department of Music, Prof. Shefali Taneja Department of Psychology, Prof. Navneet Kaur Department of Computer, Prof. Jaskaran Kaur, Prof. Onkar Singh Department of Geography, Prof. Jaswant Singh, Department of Fine Arts Prof Shubham of the Department of Mathematics played an important role.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *