Non-Teaching XI Wins fourth consecutive Friendly Cricket Match in Lyallpur Khalsa College

  • By admin
  • March 3, 2022
  • 0

Jalandhar March 2 (Jaswinder Singh Azad)- A friendly cricket match was played in Lyallpur Khalsa College, between the Teaching and Non-teaching XIs of the college under the captaincy of Principal Gurpinder Singh Samra and Mr. Surinder Kumar Chalotra (P.A. to the Principal) respectively.

The Non-teaching-XI won the match by 21 runs after restricting the teaching-XI to a score of 92. The players of non-teaching team included Prof. Arun Dev Sharma (Vice-Captain), Prof. Dinkar Sharma, Prof. Palwinder Singh, Prof. Ajitpal Singh, Prof. Satinder Singh, Prof. Surbjit Singh, Prof. Gurchetan Singh, Prof. Ajay Kumar, Prof. Vineet Gupta, Prof. Harpreet Singh whereas the Non-Teaching team comprised of Mr. Ranjit Singh (Vice-Captain), Mr. Sandeep, Mr. Rakesh Singh, Mr. Sarabjit Singh, Mr. Inderjit Gill, Mr. Harjit Singh, Mr. Minal Sharma, Mr. Sunil Kumar, Mr. Rajiv and Mr. Subhash. Sandeep Kumar of the non-teaching was adjudged Man of the match on his tremendous bowling display.

Principal Dr. Gurpinder Singh Samra congratulated

In the post match ceremony, Principal Dr. Gurpinder Singh Samra congratulated the winning team and appreciated the spirit and sportsmanship with which this annual sports match is played with utmost respect and togetherness for each other. He said that the motto of the match is to promote the unity between the teaching and non teaching staff while spreading the message of importance of fitness and sports.

The captain of the non teaching XI Surinder Kumar Chalotra while receiving the trophy thanked the Principal Dr. Samra for this wonderful tradition of giving the non-teaching team an opportunity to play in the multi-faceted sports stadium. Prof Ahuja Sandeep, Prof. Sudip Singh Dhillon and Prof. Manpreet Singh Lehal acted as Umpires for the match while the running commentary on the occasion was done by Prof. Sanjeev Anand, Dr. Surinder Pal Mand and Dr. Daljit Kaur.

The scorecard was maintained by Prof. Vikas Kumar, Prof. Gurpreet Singh, Prof Himanshu, and Mr. Ashwani Kumar. Prof. Jasreen Kaur, Dean Academic Affairs, presented the vote of thanks to conclude the sporting event. The occasion was marked by the presence of entire teaching staff, non-teaching staff and students of the College.

This year, the match was dedicated to the victims of Ukraine amongst the ongoing invasion by Russia and a collective prayer before the match, was performed with the hope of peace, harmony and brotherhood in the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *